falling off the wagon

30 Apr

Finish exams and stuff my face sums up my week. Not only was it my momma’s birthday this week, but I also went back to work at the grocery store. Paycheck = great, constant supply of unhealthy snacks = not good. I can’t resist a good sour jujube or caramel corn, or anything dipped in sugar, especially when I hit the afternoon slump. There was just no discipline this week. At all. I did get all my workouts in and I’m up to 6km as I train for an 8k run on the May long weekend. However, I undid all of that with the ridiculous amount of crap I ate. Starting today, I’m writing down everything I eat. Lots more discipline. No more snacks at work unless I bring something from home or it’s a fruit or a veggie.Done.

Anywho, for momma K’s birthday I made her a normal vanilla cake with lemon curd (my fave!) and a whipped cream frosting topped with lots of yummy berries. I use the joy of baking recipes for all of these items, but I wasn’t so impressed with the cake. It was really dense. I was looking for something that would stand up to the lemon curd and not get soggy, but I didn’t want something I could build a house on top of either. Not impressed, still on the lookout for a great cake recipe for my non-g-free family and friends.

I also made a pavlova, just for me 🙂 Well, I did share, but I could have eaten the whole thing. It was beautiful, and perfect, all marshmallow-y with a crispy crust. Topped with whipped cream and berries! If you’ve never made pavlova it can be super tricky. And it’s best to make it on a day that isn’t humid or rainy so it doesn’t get sticky.

Pavlova:

3 egg whites

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp white vinegar

1 tbsp cornstarch

Preheat oven to 250. Line a pan with parchment paper

Beat the egg whites until they form soft peaks. Add the sugar by tablespoon as you continue to beat until the egg whites form stiff peaks. Beat in the vanilla. Sprinkle vinegar and cornstarch on top of the eggs and gently fold in (I use a whisk to do this so that I don’t kill the lift in my egg whites). Spread egg whites over parchment paper in a circle with a little bit of a well in the middle to hold the whipped cream and fruit.

Bake in oven at 250 for 60-75 minutes, until a very light brown colour. Turn off the oven and leave the door open a bit until the Pavlova cools. Store in an airtight container on the parchment until ready to serve.

Top with whipped cream and your choice of fruit!

3 Responses to “falling off the wagon”

  1. jazzandsoullove May 1, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Dear goodness me. I’m going to get so fat. Thanks a lot lol.

  2. myhonestself May 8, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    “as I train for an 8k run on the May long weekend” I like the sounds of that!

    • Karla May 8, 2012 at 12:57 am #

      actually, i’ve just hit the injured list with top of foot pain 😦

Leave a Reply

