“They don’t taste gluten free at all”

21 Apr

I love chocolate. In any form. At any time. Especially during final exams.

With the advent of 2 exams back to back my craving for chocolate had peaked. One problem. We actually have bare bones food in my house right now. Moving out means eating everything you have so you don’t have to throw it out or take it home. So I was left with 1 cup of gluten free flour and one ounce of bittersweet chocolate. I spent probably an hour searching for a recipe for chocolate gluten free cookies when I stumbled upon this one: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.ca/2011/04/gluten-free-chocolate-cookies-with.html

I was afraid it wouldn’t taste right without the chocolate chips — gluten free stuff is weird like that. Leave one ingredient out and bam, nasty cookie. Also, the gluten free flour blend I bought in bulk isn’t the greatest. I kept forgetting my good mix at home so I thought I’d make do with an all purpose blend. Yeah, not so much. It’s great for texture, but if whatever you’re making isn’t super chocolatey or strong flavoured, it has a really off-putting flavour.

Anyways, I made a half batch. Added a little more cocoa than I needed and chopped up that bittersweet chocolate and added it to the mix. I also used regular skim milk and shortening. They turned out pretty good actually. A little dry if anything. But they were tested by my normal food eating roommate and she said “they don’t taste gluten free at all”. Success.

Of course success is much better with frosting, so I whipped up a quick cream cheese icing for these. Not even close to having a recipe for this. Basically just softened some cream cheese, added a splash of milk and a ton of icing sugar. Tah Dah. Just what I needed!

You only live once,

Karla

2 Responses to ““They don’t taste gluten free at all””

  1. Brittany April 21, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    Baking gluten free, or dairy free desserts that taste just like the original..is awesome. Especially getting others to try and agree!

    • karlajk April 21, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      Oh definitely! I love when I surprise people by telling them it’s gluten free after they’ve eaten it 🙂

Leave a Reply

