Questions and Lemon Muffins

29 Mar

At the beginning of December I made the decision to eat gluten free in hopes of fixing the digestive problems I’ve had for a while. It worked. I feel great. Since making this decision I get the following questions all the time:

1. Is your diet that much healthier than before?

Actually, yes. But not because I cut out gluten. Along with deciding to remove gluten from my diet I’ve changed the way I eat completely. Lots of fruits, veggies and lean proteins. I have a smoothie almost everyday for lunch and oatmeal every morning for breakfast. I drink tons of water and limit myself to one extra special treat per week. A gluten free diet is not necessarily a healthy diet. I could eat tons of gluten free prepackaged meals, and most gluten free flours are refined and not whole grains at all. Plus most things like potato chips, chocolate and candy are gluten free. I changed my whole diet, not just the gluten free part.

2. Is it hard to be gluten free?

Yes and no. It’s hard when I’m not at home. Although most restaurants have a menu with some options for me, it’s more difficult when I’m at a friend’s house for dinner or need a quick snack on campus. I don’t like to ask for special meals, or enjoy explaining what I can and can’t eat. It makes me feel whiny and needy. So I carry lots of snacks and bring my own food, or a substantial gluten free dish if I’m going to a potluck. Otherwise, it’s pretty easy. I miss cupcakes and garlic bread, but I’m finding ways to make those gluten free as I go. If I’m not prepared or plans change at the last minute it is hard.

3. So, you can’t have any gluten?

Well, technically I can have all the gluten I want. I haven’t been diagnosed with celiac, so other than an intolerance the gluten isn’t destroying my intestines. I try my best to avoid all foods containing gluten including sauces, dressings, and condiments. I pay for it if I eat something that I should have avoided.

Oh and this week I was looking to venture into the world of muffins, so I started with a pretty basic lemon muffin recipe adapted from gingerlemongirl.blogspot.ca. I halved the recipe because I only wanted to make a few muffins, omitted the stevia, and kept the milk amount the same because the dough was pretty sticky. I also used gluten free flour instead of almond flour; I just don’t have almond flour in the house. They turned out pretty well. Pretty dense. So I think next time I’d whip up the egg whites to see if they could add a little more lift to the batter.

You only live once,

Karla

Lemon Muffins adapted from gingerlemongirl.blogspot.ca

2 1/2 cups gluten free flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3 tbsp lemon gelatin

1/2 cup demerara or dark brown sugar

1/2 tsp nutmeg

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp lemon zest

1/2 cup milk – add more if the batter is really thick

Mix together and bake at 350 for 18 minutes. Let cool and enjoy 🙂

 

 

6 Responses to “Questions and Lemon Muffins”

  1. foodrefashionista April 21, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    These look delicious! A suggestion for getting extra lift with gf flours. Mix 2 flours (I often do white rice and quinoa flours), add a starch such as tapioca or potato, and 1 tsp. xanthan gum per cup of flour. Just make sure that your total flour and starch add up to the recipe’s original quantity of flour. Hope that helps!

    • karlajk April 21, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      Thanks! For this recipe I used an all purpose blend with about 5 different flours and a starch. It’s not my favourite blend. Texture-wise it’s great, but it makes a super dense product and has a funky taste.

      • foodrefashionista April 21, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

        Hmmm…did you use xanthan gum?

      • karlajk April 21, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

        yupp! I’m pretty sure it’s the flour blend. I made cornbread with it a week or so and it didn’t turn out that great. Super dense and odd tasting. I think I’ll stick to my own mix of flour instead of all purpose blend I got. Although this flour does work okay for brownies and anything with chocolate.

      • foodrefashionista April 21, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

        That sounds like a good idea…the more I experiment with gf flours, the more I realize what an unknown universe it is. I’ll bet the manufacturer of that blend just thought it would sell better if it had a lot of different flours in it!

      • karlajk April 21, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

        I bet!

Leave a Reply

