Sunshine and Fish Tacos

21 Mar

Since today was absolutely gorgeous and I spent the whole afternoon outside working onmytan. I was in the mood for one of my favourite light, but also super flavourful meals. FISH TACOS! I adore spicy food, and guacamole, and cheese, so they all made it into this super quick dish.

I whipped up a quick guacamole (recipe below) with avocado, tomato, lime and because I didn’t have any jalapeno, a little cayenne pepper for some heat. Seasoned with a little salt and it was perfect. Avocados have become one of my favourites lately. They’re so versatile and are a great source of healthy fat to keep me full between meals!

I pan seared some fish in lots of spices (cayenne, chili powder, cumin, salt, pepper, garlic powder) and a little olive oil. Threw it and the guac in a toasted corn tortilla and topped with a little feta. Of course mexican cheese like queso fresco would have been ideal, but feta did the trick. If only I could have a fridge full of lots of different cheeses all the time. Silly student budget.

On that student budget note, I should mention that most of my meals are based on what I can get on sale. We stock up on frozen fish and other proteins when they’re on sale. I got 4 good sized filets for 3.99 this week, so this meal rings in at about 2.00 per serving (2 tacos).

You only live once,

Karla

Guacamole:

1/2 ripe avocado – mashed

1 small tomato – diced

juice of 1/2 a lime

salt and cayenne to taste

 

 

One Response to “Sunshine and Fish Tacos”

  1. myhonestself April 16, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    That silly student budget……i hear yah!

Leave a Reply

