Pizza

16 Mar

Every university student loves pizza. It’s almost a universal truth. I’ve had some pretty good pizza and some pretty horrible pizza over the years. I’ve also had some pretty decent gluten-free pizza and some less than wonderful gluten-free pizza. So I decided to make my own.

No, I did not make my dough from scratch. Gluten-free dough is a pain, and takes way too long for me.  So I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pizza Crust. It’s also dairy free for anyone with casein issues. It was pretty simple. Added the yeast package to warm water, threw in the mix, 2 eggs and 2 tbsp of olive oil, then let it rise for about 20 minutes.

The dough comes out pretty sticky, and really not anything like a normal pizza dough. It’s kind of lumpy and weird. However, I’m used to that kind of thing now. I halved it and smooshed it over the pan. I’ve heard of people throwing plastic wrap on top then rolling it out, but that was way too much work for a pizza. I pre-baked the crust for about 10 minutes, until it was golden brown.

Below you’ll find the recipe for my homemade pizza/pasta sauce. It’s just a tomato base, you can add anything to it though; spices, meat; mushrooms, veggies etc.

I brushed the crust with garlic oil and then topped it with sauce, spinach and feta cheese. Threw it back in the oven for about 10-12 minutes. The result was a super yummy pizza! The dough was a little more chewy than a normal crust, but not soggy or doughy like most gluten free baked goods. I give Bob’s Red Mill a thumbs up on this one 🙂

You only live once,

Karla

Tomato sauce for Pizza or Pasta

1 can diced tomatoes

3/4 can of tomato paste

3 cloves of garlic – smashed

salt, pepper, blend of herbs/spices to taste  – I use oregano, basil, thyme

1 tbsp brown sugar

Cook the tomatoes and paste together over medium heat. Crush the garlic cloves under a knife and add to simmering tomatoes. Add spices, salt, pepper, and sugar. Let simmer for about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool a bit. Puree until smooth.

Notes: I use an immersion blender to make this. It’s really easy and I just let the sauce cool a bit before I can puree. If you’re going to use a blender or a food processor you’ll want to let it cool a good amount before you puree or you’ll have a kitchen explosion.

Leave a Reply

