Newest Obsession

14 Mar

3 words. Reduced balsamic vinegar. So delicious. It brings so much flavour to almost anything I’ve made with it and it means I don’t have to use any of that cheap wonderful wine laying around my humble student home. I have cooked pork in a maple balsalmic reduction. I’ve added reduced balsamic to tomato sauces and even a little bit to a soup I made earlier in the month. All so delicious.

Tonight I decided I wanted a really slowly cooked and flavourful meal. Braised chicken thighs was the result.

I started with skin on bone in chicken thighs and seared them off over medium heat in my big cast iron pan because it’s oven safe. I made sure the skin got super crispy and then flipped them over for a few minutes to sear the more meaty side. I took them out of the pan, added a little butter (don’t cheap out…butter is

better), some quartered mushrooms and about 6 cloves of roughly chopped garlic. I let the mushrooms cook down then added enough balsamic vinegar to cover the bottom of the pan. I let that reduce to half and then threw the chicken back in . Then I added enough chicken stock to cover the chicken just until the edge of the skin. That way it wouldn’t get super soggy. Tossed this into a relatively hot oven (400F) for 45 min. Literally throw it in and come back 45 min later.

After 45 min I took it out of the oven, took the chicken out and put it on a plate, reduced the sauce left in the pan a little and added two huge handfuls of baby spinach. I wilted this down then plated it up over some rice.  Potatoes of any kind would also be nice.

This was one of my favourite meals to date. The chicken came out super moist and flavourful. Perfect soul food.

Disclaimer: I don’t use recipes that often. I get inspiration from the food network and some really awesome recipe books, but I rarely use a recipe when I cook. Basically its a dash of this, some of that until I like the flavour! I haven’t made anything inedible yet, so I’d say it works pretty well. But for anyone looking to recreate this I’ve added the approximate amounts below!

 

You only live once,

Karla

Balsamic Braised Chicken Thighs

6-8 chicken thighs – skin on, bone in

1 tbsp butter

1lb mushrooms – quartered

6 cloves garlic – roughly chopped

1/2 c balsamic vinegar

1 1/2 cup chicken stock – enough to almost cover the chicken

2 big handfuls of baby spinach

 

 

One Response to “Newest Obsession”

  1. Kellsie March 15, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    This sounds amazing Karla!!

Leave a Reply

