First Recipe – Super Smoothie

7 Mar

Image

Food was and still is my major motivation for this blog. I ADORE food. I love breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, fourth meal, high tea. I started cooking in high school, but I did a ton of baking with my mom, nana and aunts when I was younger too. I grew up on homemade cookies, muffins and brownies. Little Debbie has nothing on the stuff I got to eat for lunch. Now that I’m basically living on my own and share the cooking with my roommates I get to experiment with lots of flavours and new foods. Oh and I’m gluten intolerant. So everything you see here on my blog will be gluten free, but I promise you super delicious.

Everyday I have a smoothie. Actually though. Every. Single. Day. Why? They’re delicious, super nutritious and help me get all those wonderful fruits and veggies I need each day.

 

SUPER SMOOTHIE

1 small ripe banana – sometimes I use frozen chunks

1 c mixed berries

1 c fresh baby spinach

1/2 c orange juice

1/4 c greek yogurt – I use Oikos plain 2% for its high protein and bit of fat that keeps me full longer

2 tbsp ground flax

I throw this all in the tall plastic container that came with my immersion blender and blend for a few minutes until all the spinach is in itty bitty pieces. The frozen fruit keeps it nice and cold without watering it down! You could totally sub out the greek yogurt and orange juice for rice/almond/hemp milk or even protein powder and water if you want too!

 

You only live once,

Karla

Leave a Reply

